As I have to find my own way down to Invercargill tomorrow I have booked onto the Knight Rider which travels overnight from Christchurch to Invercargill. It means that I will arrive about three in the morning.

I have looked out a cat cage so that dryad can borrow it while I’m away. She is getting two new kittens. (Greater range of recipes.)

Lots of comics this week:

Adam Strange: I remember the Omega Men. They were created by Peter David for a one-off title involving Snapper Carr after a cross-title invasion of earth by aliens. They subjugated Australia first. Shows there is intelligent life out there.

Alpha Flight: one more issue to go.

Astonishing X-Men: The best line of the issue does not go to the writer, although he provides a lot of great moments. Instead it belongs to the anonymous letter writer who said: ‘We have your cat…Keep Joss Whedon on Astonishing X-Men. Forever.’

Supreme Power: what starts as a talkie issue turns into a big fight issue. Portents of escalating scariness.

Strange: my suggested title for this issue, Positively Bleeker Street.

Amazing Spider-Man: the new arc begins. Nicely balanced issue introducing a new character and a new situation. On a first read I’m not sure of Parker walking out of the confrontation at the end. It felt a bit forced to me.

