I heard through the grapevine that one person finds in the middle of conversations I go distant. For good reason. When that person gets into a minutes-long diatribe I phase out. That is not the only person to whom I can do it. I’ve sat through too many long sermons attentively. It’s a survival technique.

I spent the first part of the day today moving boxes. My work for the year looks to be set.

I have just been browsing around on friends’ friends-pages, and I found a quiz from an over-rated series of books. (I think that they are overrated even though I have kept up with the series in hardback copies.) I did the quiz and wasn’t disappointed with the result: Hufflepuff.

You might belong in Hufflepuff, where they are just and loyal; those patient Hufflepuffs are true and unafraid of toil.” Hufflepuff House is the home of the stalwart, the steady, the can-do, and the responsible. With malice toward none, Hufflepuffs make friends easily; with their unerring personal dependability, Hufflepuffs are pillars of society. You probably don’t rush to judgment, you probably keep your friends for quite a long time, and you have no fear of hard work. You don’t back down from any challenge to your community and you don’t flinch at any pains that must be taken in the pursuit of truth and justice.

Trained in the house of doughty wizards, I like that.

