The research assistant was in the workroom, working on a newsletter with her husband. It was painful to watch, like teaching my mother how to use a computer. Everyone else congregated in the basement office.

A new series, House, has started on Friday nights. I watched the opening sequence of it last week. I didn’t feel motivated to watch more than a few minutes. English actor Hugh Laurie plays the eccentric American Doctor House. Beautiful American actors drift through playing beautiful people. I think you can tell I was not taken with it. As my flatmates like it I expect that I will be able to follow the gist of the series from the other end of the house.

I hoped to get a machine load of washing through while I had an afternoon free. Instead Joe has colonised my drying space.

