Posted the assignment away. Salaya! Lois Robertson, the head tutor of the course, was in Dunedin and visited the Archives at the end of the day. She arrived late. I spent time talking to her even though it meant keeping Felicity and Robert waiting outside. She looked like her thumbnail on the Open Polytechnic website, although physically she was a different person to what I anticipated.

The government is in scandal mode again as one member denied behaviour from an earlier career when corporal punishment was still permitted in New Zealand schools. I can think of at least two former members of that house who would have sat among his accusers who would not have thought of his behaviour as extreme. I never saw caning in New Zealand schools. I can remember strapping. Sometimes it was justly given. I was strapped at least once at primary school. Corporal punishment became illegal in New Zealand schools during the 1980s.

