I got around to watching Howl’s Moving Castle at the weekend. I am very impressed. Normally I am manga-intolerant. I find that they are about as fun as supervising a Sunday School class (where everyone else has some sharp instrument of destruction!) I don’t care for manga. Howl’s Moving Castle is simply a beautifully made movie. Every scene is rich in detail, pure magic and surprise. The cuteness of the characters is played down and they all behave sensibly within their limits. I would possibly rate it more highly than the original children’s novel – Diana Wynn Jones doesn’t so much have plot holes as plot lurches. And it is an anti-war movie that doesn’t overstate its argument.

It’s the kind of movie that I’m thinking who is the right people to show it to. I can think of some. Perhaps I should buy a copy for myself.

