A few years ago Southern Dave and I got halfway through writing a comic fantasy on the world of Hypercronius. I will say halfway because we ran out of steam and never finished it. We both still have a copy of it. We kept it going for a couple of years mailing each other chapters between Invercargill and Dunedin. I think by the end I had worked out where the story was going. While we were writing it I kept a file on my computer, my scribbles file. It has names that caught my attention and ideas I wanted to use. Most importantly it had characters I had put together. They are collages of descriptions I heard in conversation and mentally noted down to put into the scribbles file. That part of the file has continued to grow in the hope that someday I would return to these people. Some of them are nearly as old as the original file, more than ten years old, little Frankensteinian monsters.

I don’t plan to write a story in November. Instead I decided that when I update my file during the month I would also write a character sketch on my journal. It could be interesting.

Any resemblence to persons living or dead is entirely coincidental.

