Tao’s last week was not all bad. We had time together and before she went into her final decline she was still seeking me out. She was pretty weak, she couldn’t jump through windows and used her claws to get into my lap. She mustered up enough strength to groom herself. Not until the end did she stop seeking out her water bowl and her litter tray. Between the time she died and when I visited the vet clinic I noticed things that reminded me of her, things going thump outside, the reflexion of light on the deck. Perhaps that was her farewell gift to me, the last hurrah. The deck made noises when I was sitting in the living room at night watching Top Gear. I went to check. There was nothing there. I invited her in.

Monday evening I went to the Centre for Theology and Public Issues’ forum on Crime and Punishment. The choice of speakers seemed slanted toward restorative justice: a representative from the Howard League for Penal Reform, the organiser of the Sycamore Trust in Dunedin, a solicitor, and two politicians. Only one of the politicians was leaned towards arguing down the Law and Order line (or Laura Norder, as she is known). I was sitting beside the Area Commissioner of Police, someone with a vested interest in the topic. He took notes.

I went into town twice to get out library books, and also to do some shopping. I now have two sets of new pants, moleskins, so I should get a couple of years’ wear out of them.

After Parish Council I mentioned to one member that now we could get home and watch the end of the Phantom (2009). I didn’t know that was on tonight! he said, and left quickly. So did I, I wanted to see it too! When we compared notes later I think we both liked it. The kevlar suit worked, although I’m not convinced by the helmet and visor that replaced his mask and cowl. Still anomynity is one of the Phantom’s weapons; and his skull ring left a mark! Nice! The final set-up could been forseen and leaves the option of future shows.

Also went to the museum because I wanted to see the Contemporary Traditions display at the museum. It was to celebrate 30 years of a sister city relationship with Otaru in Japan and included modern arts and crafts from Ainu and Kai Tahu artists. I went to see if I could imagine a fusion culture emerging out of the display. I didn’t when I went in. Thinking about it afterwards I can imagine it being complementory: taiaha and attushi. I will have to go again and think about it some more.

