As it’s April now and I’m about to turn my calendar over a page I thought I would do a summary of events. There are only two months left in it as I buy a Maramataka calendar produced by Te Papa which runs from June to May.

  • The resource group for the Presbyterian churches in Dunedin met at the beginning of the month. There was discussion about setting up A Rocha Dunedin, a branch of an international Christian environmental group.
  • Went to the Dentist twice. First time for my yearly check-up; second time because they wanted to call me back to give a couple of my fillings a re-tread.
  • Two operas this month played at the Rialto from the New York Metropolitan Opera. The first was Nixon in China; happy to watch this as it means I never have to watch it again! Second opera was Iphigénie in Tauride. I took one look at the brochure pictue and thought O. M. G. They look like elves. Or at least the costumes did! So it all was about elves who have issue with human sacrifice (or should that be elvish sacrifice?)
  • Five days in Invercargill celebrating my brother’s fiftieth birthday. Dinner with Boston T. and his partner, night out with drinks at the Southland Club. I will be back down there next month for a night for the annual meeting of the Synod of Otago and Southland.
  • Parish Council in the middle of the month.
  • Our office closed for Otago Anniversary Day this year. Other years we have decided to take it at Easter. Gym was closed as well.
  • I met my intellectually handicapped friend when Lisa from Friendlink brought him to meet me after work. He lives on Taieri Road now so I see him less often. Lisa took us down to the Harbour where we ate chips and a sausage each. There was a seal in the water. Every few metres its head rose out of the water as it swam past. I’ve never seen a seal in the water before.
  • Another birthday party. L’Enfant de Jeu turned 30 so she celebrated at the Poolhouse. I’m not much of a mingler at parties but everyone was so nice; and being the Sweet Adelines there was impromptu singing. Has it really been twelve months since I last got out my Tarocash shirt and wore it. Let’s hope it has another date next year!
  • I went to the play Mates and Lovers which was part of the Dunedin Fringe Festival. It was a dramatisation of the gay history of New Zealand. It was well received and I would like to see it again.
  • In the last week three of us went to political party meeting in a pub in South Dunedin. It was reported that a senior politician was seen leaving the meeting in the company of other politicians which was reported as part of recent leadership struggle reported in the media. It was not reported what they were wearing or even if they were wearing anything. Political reporters in this country really need to up their game, and stop trying to be kingmakers!
  • Advertisements