The Rugby World Cup 2011 has begun in New Zealand.  I had a guest staying with me for the last couple of nights for the 24 Hour Book Sale in Dunedin, my friend Southern Dave.  We watched the opening ceremony and enjoyed it.  I would love a DVD release that includes all the detail for which there was no time to show on television.  It was an entertaining show that included indigenous culture and rugby playing in a performance that would make the producers of Doctor Who envious.  I’m still waiting for New Zealand to produce a science fiction or fantasy show that includes that level of visual imagination and detail.  Oh, well.

Instead of watching the game I changed channels and watched a action movie based on a video game.  I hadn’t seen it before and it sank to new levels of tedium compared to the extravaganza we had just watched.  Maybe the schedulers put it on because they knew nobody would be watching it.

With the opening of the Rugby World Cup I wanted to post this extract from Rev. Pr Albie Moore’s autobiography:

A more positive experience of the natural wonder of southern New Zealand was provided by a visit to Fiordland in western Southland.  Driving in the late afternoon we passed through Mossburn; darkness would soon fall and there was a mysterious and primeval air about the place in the half-light which brought out the myth-maker in us.  [Ninian Smart and I] stopped the car and began to concoct a fanciful myth of origins, which linked the Máori of New Zealand with Scottish antiquity. In the mythical past, we conjectured, this had once been the amphitheatre at the centre of the world at Mohaparana (Mossburn).  Out of the great egg of of primeval creation stepped Hakota (the Scot) and partner Makiwi (the mother of New Zealanders). They had thirty sons who strove mightily in two teams of fifteen.  Crouching down, they formed the sacred hakarama (scrum) to produce more eggs of creation.  And so was born the ancient tradition of rakapi (rugby football) festivals.  (I recounted our fantasy myth to a stage I class the following year, and apparently one or two of the student were first inclined to believe it, but at least it illustrated the appeal of a myth of origins).

This is post 1001 of The Irrefutable Proof about Hobbits.  At last we have entered the new millenium.

I’ll write later about the 24 Hour Book Sale.  Back then!

