I visited theBlue Oysterfor a talk on photography on Saturday.  I confess I was disappointed.  I was hoping for a talk on the history of photography.  It was the second of two talks.  The first, which I understand was at the opening of the exhibition, was the presentation on photographic art history that an artist outside of Dunedin had prepared.  Displaying alongside it was a screen of photographs selected by a lecturer in photography in Dunedin as his reflection on the original screening of photographs.  I could see the unity in the first screen, the second which was the response to the first left me confused, and the talk was on the second screen.  I had hoped that what we would get was an introduction to the history of photography.  The display was on art photography, which from an archivist’s perspective, did not interest me.  Perhaps I like photography with provinance, and this wasn’t provided for me.  I left as soon as I could.

Much to my delight I went and saw Wagner’s Dream at the Rialto on Sunday.  I watched with delight as the producer and the stage team at the Metropolitan Opera built the Machine on stage.  They won over the diehard Wagnerian fans with their vision and managed to introduce new people to opera.  That’s quite an accomplishment.  There were appearances by Stephanie Blythe and Bryn Tyrfel.  This was the Ring cycle that introduced the lovely Deborah Voigt as Brünhilda and Jay Hunter Morris as Siegfried.  The latter from Texas, legendarily taking up the role with only four days before the opening night as the original singer fell ill and he trumped the role.  Future appearances by both of them are going to be fun to look out for.

And there was a brief appearance of my favourite moment as the Machine became the winged horse Grane bearing Brünhilda and Sieglinde away from the vengeful Wotan.  All in all, a pleasing and uplifting afternoon’s theatre going.

