On a whim I visited the Conlang List website a couple of nights ago.  I was surprised to see the thread with the above title.  When I have a subscription to the list I keep my account as Nomail because I don’t want the high amount of traffic in my inbox.  While there was some discussion of my work on Brithenig the discussion had moved on before I had noticed.

On physical examination of myself I found that neither of my ears were burning.  If my right ear was warm then I guess somebody was praising, if my left ear then somebody was dissing me.  I’m still breathing, and I think I can find a pulse, I’m not very good at finding that.  No contact had been made to me by the members of the discussion.  I had become an observer on people talking about my work, even though I’m not dead yet.  Is this how Jesus feels?

I only glanced briefly at the discussion.  I had come to the conclusion that the creation of a posteriori language creation is a weak form of engelang as much as it is an artlang.    The criteria for it to be aesthetically pleasing is subjective.  Brithenig has rules  of historical soundchange that dictate the appearance of the language.  The distinction to me is blurred and borderline, and irrelevant.  Mind you, I am not a student of the distinctions between artlang, engelang, nor auxlang.  They don’t interest me.

