This proved to be worthy of a visit.  I went twice to museum for a visit, the second time because ARANZ Dunedin, the Archives and Records Association held an end-of-year tea and we wandered around having a look.  I have already started referring to the museum as Toitu, a Maori word meaning To Preserve Forever and the name of a stream that runs under High Street.  People seem to know what I refer to, it’s easy to remember and less long winded than calling it the Settlers Museum.

The Presbyterian Archives donated a stonking huge pulpit bible to the interactive settler’s hut display.  It had been sitting on my workspace for half a year because I knew that there was someone who needed one.  I though it was a parish who was looking for a new pulpit bible.  It’s found a new home now.  The idea that the settlers brought a huge bible like that across for their spiritual comfort which would have taken up precious space that they had for luggage is an act of faith.

If you visit the display then try out the bed.  It’s padded with rushes and absolutely no give.  Could we have lived like that?  It would be a challenge and demand sacrifices.  They were a hardy lot.

We admired the big chunky horses that the museum had created as part of the carriage display.  Perhaps they come alive at night and race around the museum.  It would be quite fun to imagine a fantasy written using the elements that are available in the museum.

I found my ancestors among the portraits of the first settlers.  It was easier to walk around the walls until I found them than use the screens.  The display of the Chinese who settled Otago is gone as a unit.  Parts of it are scattered in other displays around the museum.

Even after two visits there is still a lot to see.  I will be going again.

Despite the end of the Mayan calendar the end of the world is not come upon us.  This means I will have to go out and do the last of my Christmas shopping.  Hopefully I beat the rain.

