Cat Chandler is working her way through college in a bar.  When her battery is flat after a late shift she calls for help from momma.  Momma gets shot by the knight-rider team, Chandler survives because a monster in the wood rescues her from her attacker.

Jump nine years.  Chandler is now detective and driving something the size of a small continent.  She’s just dumped her two-timing boyfriend, and that was a well-played move.  She’s got a post-Buffy Cagney-and-Lacey routine with her police partner Vargas.  There is some good chemistry and sassy repartee going on between those two.  I hope it is developed.

Chandler tends to shoot her mouth off.  “I promise to be quiet.” Yeah, right! I’ll believe that when I see it.  Shut up, already!  She can spot her attackers.  I would say that she has a working spider-sense.

I’m trying to work out forensic guy’s accent.  What’s his back-story?

Vincent  turns up again, the superhero in the shadows.  He’s a Afghan veteran who went to war because his brother died in the fall of the Twin Towers.  The conspiracy pumped him up with something that gave him fast and deadly.  Now they want him dead and he’s hiding from them.  They rewrote his DNA, which is weird science shorthand for superhero, or monster. I don’t think that science can ‘rewrite DNA’ without altering the personality of the patient.

“I know what it is to lose someone you love but you need to move on.”  Oh, come on! Look who’s talking!

In the end they catch the villain behind the crime of the week.  It turns out the victim’s widower is bit of a philanderer.

A rummage around the internet proves that viewers are divided into two camps: those who remember and love the series with Ron Perlman and Linda Hamilton; and those who are watching this new series as it is presented.  I’m in the first camp.  I have fond memories of the 1980s series, including the third season when Linda Hamilton was killed off because she had success with Terminator.  In fact I think some of the best story-telling was in the third season as Vincent has to rescue his new-born son from Gabriel, a bigger monster than him.  Ron Perlman’s Vincent is one of my favourite characters.

For me then, Jay Ryan’s Vincent Keller is in the shadow of the original Vincent.  He doesn’t live under New York, recite poetry and literature, nor listen to opera.  The series looks to fall into the mold of a crime series rather than a romantic fantasy.  The chemistry between Chandler and Keller hasn’t emerged in the first episode.  I think I should lay aside my bias and continue watching.  However as American television companies are flailing around trying to find the series that is going to be the breakthrough for them in the first season from what I’ve seen I won’t be upset if it proves that this title is cancelled after one season.

