One of the moveable feasts of year was observed this weekend.  The Twenty Four Hour Regent Book Sale is a high holy day of the year.  As It Is Tradition, I expect to host Southern Dave for the weekend.  Dave is a collector of books, CDs and grave-sites.  We spent a morning traipsing around the non-Euclidean graves of Dunedin, sister-city to R’lyeh.

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu Northern Cemetery wgah'nagl fhtagn!

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu Northern Cemetery wgah’nagl fhtagn!

Translated from the original Gaelic as “In his grave at the Northern Cemetery Great Cthulhu politely requests that nearby student flats keep the noise down!”

I found a copy of The Dunwich Horror and Others by H. P. Lovecraft at the book sale, produced by Arkham House.  Bill who works at Scribes observed that they would sell something like that for $60.  I got it for $5.

I found copies of Teach Yourself Turkish and Teach Yourself  Basic Spanish among the Foreign Languages.  My big purchase of the sale was in the Nearly New Books where I decided to fill out The Black Company Series by Glen Cook.  I picked out about eight books so that made a significant contribution to the upkeep of the Regent Theatre.

Came a wet Sunday and Dave has returned to Invercargill.  He has left me with the next two books in the Dresden Files as I never see White Night on the shelves.  Also a block of cheese and a tub of margarine.

My flat is restored to its original state.  Now to sleep dreamlessly.

Finally a wave and a shout-out to my friend Dr Ali Clarke.  Welcome to the bloggersphere!  Everyone else, follow that blog!

