I caught this title for an open lecture from the Department of Theology and Religious Studies at the last moment when I checked my gmail account this morning.  A visiting lecture gave the opportunity for an open lecture at the last moment.  I’m glad I caught the lecture.  I think it includes ideas that I will find formative.

Professor Eugene Rogers went looking for the role of the Blood of Christ in the theological writings of Thomas Aquinas.  It led him to a study of the eucharist in Dr. Aquinas’s theology.

The sacraments descent from god to effect our salvation.  God joins us to god in the divine metabolism of becoming human.  The spirit rests on matter.  The passion and the pneuma are in the blood, the fire in the wine.

Over every living thing which is to spring up, to grow, to flower, to ripen during this day say again the words: This is my Body.

And over every death-force which waits in readiness to corrode, to wither, to cut down, speak again your commanding words which express the supreme mystery of faith: This is my Blood.

I see I shall be meditating on The Mass on the World by Teilhard de Chardin again.

Christ is incarnate in the eucharist.  He makes it an instrument of his agency, divine things done with bread and vineously.  His flesh gives life because of the word it is united.  We are uniting in drawing together into god, stretched out into god as god offers contact.

In the squares of white bread and shot-glasses of anemic grape-juice it is not the digestion that nourishes us; it is the act of eating and drinking that regenerates us.  God requires us to willingly act and receive.  I find this idea helpful.  The ingestion is not the communion; the participation in the act is.

And afterwards the disciples gather up the remains, the noa from the tapu.

