Vocabulary:

Alba ‘Alaba’ Scotland

Alba Nuadh ‘Alaba Nooagh’ Nova Scotia, literally New Scotland.

Gaelic seems to like inserting an epicentric vowel after an L and R before another consonant.  I imagine it re-inforces the pronunciation of the first sound.

Sealan Nuadh ‘Sheylan Nooagh’ New Zealand.

Dùn Eideann ‘Doon Eydjen’  Edinburgh in Scotland, or Dunedin in New Zealand.  Need to be precise.

An t-Eilean a Tuath ‘an Cheylen a Tooa’, The North Island.

An t-Eilean a Deas ‘an Cheylen a Jess’, The South Island.

‘laa’ day  Math ‘ma’ (short a followed by breath) good, together Là math Good day, g’day

Feasgar math ‘fesker ma’ good afternoon, good evening

Madain mhath ‘madin va’ (dental d) good morning

oidhche mhath ‘aye-cheh va’ good night (at the end of the day)

Gaelic is VSO: Verb Subject Object.

Tha ‘ha’ am, is, are

Tha mise sona I am happy

mi ‘mee’ I, me                  sinn ‘sheen’ we, us

thu ‘oo’ you (thou)        sibh ‘shiff’ you (p0lite)

e ‘eh’ or ‘uh’ he, him, it iad ‘eeat’ they (becomes short in spoken language)

i ‘ee’ she, her, it

Gaelic has no neuter gender.  All nouns are either he or she, depending on what gender is chosen.

I wonder  if Gaelic has kept the initial letters from Indo-European *nos and *vos after a prefixed si– and dropped the ending.

(I need to come back to this post if I ever find a short-cut to formatting!)

tha mi ‘ha mee’ I am      tha sinn ‘ha shin’ we are

tha thu ‘ha oo’ you are tha sibh ‘ha shiff’ you are

tha e ‘ha eh’ he is            tha iad ‘ha’t’ they are

tha i ‘ha ee’ she is

It sounds to me as if the subject pronoun has become a verb ending.  It is dropped when a noun follows and tha is used alone.

As well Gaelic has emphatic and self pronouns and the speaker needs to be comfortable in using them.

mise ‘misheh’ I! me!                            sinne ‘shinnye’ we! us!

thusa ‘oosa’ you!                                  sibhse ‘shivsheh’ you!

esan ‘eshan’ or ‘essan’ he! him! it! iadsan ‘adsan’ they

ise ‘eesheh’ she! her! it!

mi-fhìn ‘mee-heen’ myself    sinn-fhìn ‘shin-heen’ ourselves

thu-fhéin ‘oo-hein’ yourself sibh-fhéin ‘shiff-hein’ yourselves

e-fhéin ‘eh-hein’ himself        iad-fhéin ‘ad-hein’ themselves

i-fhéin ‘ee-hein’ herself

The verb tha can be changed for:

chan eil ‘chan yeyl’ am not, is not, are not

a bheil ‘aveyl’ am? is? are?

nach eil ‘nach eyl’ am not? is not? are not?

The answer is tha, is=yes, and chan eil, is not=no.

The same verb is used with the preposition aig, at, to say ‘to have’, tha clas gàidhlig agam, I have a Gaelic class.

The question words in Gaelic are rather cool:

, who

, what, shortened from Coid e

Ciamar, how, literally what-like

Co ás, where from, literally out of what

Carson, why, literally what for, Cia + airson

Cuine, when, from what time, Cia + uine

Càite, where, from what place, Cia + aite

I know that there is more to write up.  However, obh obh, I’m coming to the end of Matinee Idle for Waitangi Day on the radio, and it’s still a fine day outside.

I can get the structure of the language.  I need to do more work in listening and parsing spoken Gaelic.

Beannachd leibh!

